I DID IT!

25 Oct

This weekend was a whirlwind of activities, including my first 5k! If you remember I was attending the Susan G. Komen Race for The Cure event here in Baltimore, MD. The event was held this past Sunday and it was freezing! If you know me, I like heat and cannot stand the cold. The race started at 8AM, and the temperature was about 40 degrees. No lie. I didn’t have much confidence in my ability to complete this race. I had thrown on a pair of heavy sweatpants and my north face sweatshirt on top of my running gear. I had everything hooked up: apps on my phone, headphones, heart rate monitor. I took my sweatpants off before leaving the car.. didn’t want to deal with them. The traffic at this event was insane. It made complete sense, but I didn’t factor that in and so we arrived and parked with only 10 minutes to get to the start line! We got over there quickly and I took my sweatshirt off 8(.

At this point I was really worried about what was going to happen next. I still wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to do this. I had never run in the cold! I knew breathing would be harder.  I had never run in a race before – what if someone pushed me over!!!.. at the last minute I pushed my way into the crowd and waited for the bell to ring to signal our start.. It all happened so fast. I was a good ways away from the start line and because of the big crowd it was hard to run at first.. I know I was running as I crossed the start line though.

My coworker had miss-spoken and told me there was only one real hill to worry about. But boy was he lying.. the first 2 miles were pretty hilly. I kept thinking – gzZzz another one. I got through the first 2 miles pretty easily. I did have a hard time breathing, but gave up on trying to correctly breath through my nose. The last mile, I started to feel a cramp in my side, but I was super motivated to finish. I kept telling myself, i’ve gotten so far.. and how proud of myself i already was.  

My Nike+ alerts were about .1 miles ahead because due to the fact I started a little behind the start line.  As soon as my alert told me I had reached my goal and I could see the finish line I was so happY!!  I started looking all around for hubs.. I didn’t see him.  I crossed the finish line and was so excited.. I tried to text hubs to see where he was, but he found me!!  I gave him a huge hug. I couldn’t believe I had done it!  I was slow and steady – but in the end finishing was all that mattered to me.  I am not sure of my official time.. but I did see the clock as I was crossing the finish line.. it said about 39:12.. exactly where I thought I would be.

After the race, it was time to get some eating on! I was warmed up from the run.. but the warmth quickly left my body. As we made our way back to the car.. we stopped into Panera and I grabbed a hot chocolate. We had plans to go to IHOP and feast on all-you-can-eat pancakes. I wasn’t that hungry though. But we went, I ate a couple – more hash browns.

I had such an amazing time at the race. Even though I did it by myself I still had a ton of fun. I knew hubs was at the finish line! I can’t wait to run another one. And now I am even more pumped to run a 10K. I think I am addicted! I read on other runners blogs that it becomes addicting, but I didn’t believe it till I finished the race yesterday.

Below are some stats from my Nike+. You can see that the route on the map continues after the 5k is complete.. but I was walking at that point.. back to the car. On the bottom chart you can see my pace was pretty much steady, except for the first 1k which included the wait time before the race started.. My goals for the next one (o yes I am doing another one.. maybe even in the next few weeks) are to improve my pace and time!

Leave a Reply

