I LOVE running………..not

19 Aug

That’s what I keep telling myself.  I love to run.. it’s all about the attitude, right?  Though I secretly hate it.  If you remember I did the Couch to 5k program earlier this year.  I completed it on the treadmill.. but didn’t get to 3.1 miles.. I only got to about 2 miles.  That’s when I decided to take my running outside, and where my motivation stopped.  I found that my 2 mile run on the treadmill – even at a 1.0 incline (I guess that wasn’t enough) was not the same as running outside.  I had trouble even completing a mile outside.  I kept trying, I would go out a few times a week with my furbaby, because lets face it, we could both use the workout.  I live near a football stadium, so we’d loop around that, but I wasn’t seeing any progress, each time I would have a goal in mind, but I guess it was unattainable – for me.  And my furbaby doesn’t understand that he can’t stop in the middle of our jog to sniff something, so that did hold me back some – but not enough for it to be a good excuse – unfortunately.

Then today, while I was struggling in a boot camp class I’ve been taking, a light bulb turned came on in my head.  Why not re-do the Couch to 5k program outside?  And now I am like duh, why didn’t I think about that before!   I am not slow.. well maybe on some things.. like this.

So I am going to start again this weekend.. fun I know.  I have to do it though.  I don’t think i’d ever run a marathon or anything.. I am happy with just doing a 5k.  My eventual goal, will be for running to come easy.. and just be like I’m going for a run and be able to run at least 3 miles..

I’ll keep ya posted on how this works out, but it sounds like a good plan to me!

Leave a Reply

