Running chick

2 Mar

I have been sticking to my couch to 5k workout! I am in week 3 workout #3!

 

Couch to 5k Week 3

I joined the gym by my house, after I decided joining the gym at work probably wasn’t such a great idea.  The problem with trying to go to the gym at work, is that it is only feasible in the AM.  Meaning like 6:30 in the morning.  After work, I have to run home to my dog, do homework.. I don’t have time to be up in Baltimore.  So I have joined the gym by my house again and have been a happy member since last Friday.  I know it hasn’t even been a week, but I have been 3 times already – super improvement.  My plan is to go Tuesdays and Thursdays this semester, as well as Saturdays and Sundays.  I will run T, TH, SU and most likely do a group class on Saturday mornings.  If I can keep up with the schedule I have set, I will be running a 5k and complete with the program the week of April 10th.  I am super excited!  I was also informed of a Komen 5k in DC to be held sometime in June, so I also plan to sign-up for that – I should probably get on it.  So I’ve been a little skeptical about this couch to 5k workout, but a co-worker reassured me when she told me that her cousin completed it, loved it, and is now an avid runner.  I hope I can say the same once I am done!  The bummer is though that I haven’t lost any more weight, which I will attribute to my Cancun trip and also to not getting back into a proper grove until this week.  I am hoping to be eating better by tomorrow 8)..since today I went to Noodles, not being fully prepared and ordered something that is apparently 25 pts.. Umm never again eating that Indonesian Peanut Saute again..

So last night, hubby came with me to the gym.. Maybe he’ll make it more of a habit 8).  I told him we can’t pass our bad habits to our future kids – can’t be having chunky monkey’s.. We need to take better care of ourselves.  My workout yesterday wasn’t too bad.  I have to tell ya, as most people who run on treadmills know – it is boring.  I also should probably create a work-out playlist – I hate when a slow song comes on when I am supposed to be running.. Umm that’s not helpful 8).

One Response to “Running chick”

  1. Maria March 7, 2011 at 1:08 am #

    I love this post! Funny, I also got my bf to work out w/ me today… However, now… instead of Chunky Monkey, we are sitting on the couch passing a carton (yeah, carton) of Cherry Garcia back and forth!

    PS: Love your 101 list. So glad you decided to create one – now I can check #50 on mine! We should find some on our lists that we can do together. #68 sounds fun!!!

Leave a Reply

