#1 – run a 5k

8 Feb

My short-term goal is to run a 5k in an official race. I have always wanted to do this, but never have. Presently I cannot run a 5k. I am lucky if I can run a mile – I actually haven’t tried to do so in about a year. So my plan is to follow the ‘Couch to 5k’ plan. This is a 9-week program that is supposed to get your butt into gear. I started yesterday. I have attempted to start this program before, but I always try to start it in the middle – and then I just don’t keep up with it. This time I started with Week 1, Workout 1. I was pretty proud of myself. I ran outside, around the elementary school by my house. I downloaded the Couch to 5k app on my Iphone as well as the Nike+Gps app. I turned both of these on. I like Nike’s app because it gives you accolades along the way and there is actual cheering. It’s great for running outside. It also has a ‘power song’ feature which allows you to tag songs that will essentially hype you up, to give you a strong finish. The Couch to 5k app keeps you on track with your workout plan for the day by keeping track of your time intervals.

So I’m hoping I can stay on track with the program this time. Next workout- week 1, day 2 I plan to complete tomorrow. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

